• This topic has 27 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 4 weeks ago by Avatar photoKen.
  • Creator
    Topic

Shod with DArt Club Series urethane replacement tires running these vintage Cox, Monogram, et al slot cars at Nova Ridge was a blast!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

The Happy Canadian Scale Modeler!

Viewing 25 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies

I went looking for a kit for a friend. That caused me to hunt down all the kits from all the closets, nooks and crannies.

I’ve been collecting these for many years in hopes of working on a few when I retire. Never thought to make slot cars out of them. About half of them came from Marty and Cindy at very reasonable prices. Nothing is considered a worthy “collectable”.

On the bright side. My wife is happy she has her closet space back. It’s a win-win situation.

I was not aware that the 64 Mercury Marauder is a 2021 retro re-issue. Very interesting (the sound of crickets…).

It comes in red plastic. It’s a two piece body. The hood opens forward. I’ll easily glue it together.

I saw that Jag kit at Michael’s a while back and meant to pick one up.

is the body all one piece or did you assemble and paint it?

Wheels & Wings had a sale. These were only $28. Resist I could not.

This isn’t for Nova Ridge. I am looking at smaller cars to possibly fit my track.

The Olds 442 fell on its roof during the painting process. It was a very windy day when it got painted. A vinyl roof was in the works anyways. The kit actually suggests it.

Lots of chrome work to go yet to make it look like the built kit.

Easy-Off is the ticket for old and tough acrylic model paint. Soaking overnight in Easy-Off got the body cleaned up inside and out. I am amazed.

That made it possible to change to yellow without using primer. Is it perfect? Not even close. However, I plan to scratch the paint myself while racing it. It is after all a Big Bruiser class car.